Drug crimes lead to harsh punishments in the state of Texas. If you’re facing drug charges, you deserve a strong legal defense. Sergio Coronado Law provides legal defense services to individuals facing drug possession, trafficking and manufacturing charges in the Southwest area. The severity of the charges varies depending on the type and amount of drug in question. Regardless, even possessing the smallest amount can lead to fines and jail time. With the help of a defense lawyer, you’ll be able to clearly understand your charges and you can work together to proceed with your case accordingly. Before you accept a plea deal or admit guilt, speak to Sergio Coronado Law.
It may come as no surprise, but the state of Texas is well known for its harsh stance on drug possession. Penalties for the crime range from Class B misdemeanors at their lightest sentence to first degree felony at the harshest. Depending on the amount in possession, one could face a penalty of up to one year in jail with an additional fine of no more than $4,000, at the very least. As the amount in possession grows, the harshness of the penalty increases as well. This may eventually lead to the highest penalty of life or 99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000. This is the harshest penalty for drug possession in the state of Texas.
The manufacturing or cultivation of illicit drugs is considered a violation of the Texas Controlled Substances Act. Again, penalties depend on the type of drug and the quantity in question. The method in which the drug is cultivated and past convictions also come into play when determining the penalties for this crime. Penalties can range from state jail felony to first degree felony if the drug in question is listed in any of of the four penalty groups. The following are some examples of drugs in the four penalty groups:
Cultivation of drugs not listed in the penalty groups will be charged as a Class A misdemeanor which carries a sentence of no more than one year in jail and/or a fine of no more than $4,000.
Possessing or selling drug paraphernalia are both offenses in the state of Texas. Possession leads to a misdemeanor charge and a fine of $500. A first offense of the sell of paraphernalia is categorized as a misdemeanor as well leading to 1 year in jail and a fine of $4,000. Subsequent offenses are categorized as felonies with the minimum jail time being 90 days. Selling drug paraphernalia to a minor, even if it’s the first offense, will result in a felony charge and a penalty of a minimum of 180 days to 2 years in jail as well as a $10,000 fine.
Although charges for drug crimes in the state of Texas are harsh, there are many possible defenses that may reduce the charge or remove it altogether. In order to achieve this, however, it is in your best interest to team up with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will fight to defend your rights. Sergio Coronado Law has been an integral part of the El Paso community for nearly 30 years. Mr. Coronado understands what makes the city of El Paso and the surrounding Southwest area unique. You deserve an strong legal defender. Sergio Coronado is ready to help. Contact us today.