DUI and DWI charges are common in Texas. Although both charges may sound similar, the main factor that differentiates the two is the age of the individual charged. Only minors, under the age of 21, can face DUI charges while adults over the age of 21 will receive DWI charges. If an individual under the age of 21 is pulled over and any alcohol is detected in his or her system, they will face DUI charges. When it comes to minors, amount of alcohol doesn’t matter. Individuals over the age of 21, however, must be legally intoxicated in order to be charged with a DWI. In the state of Texas, a .08 blood or breath alcohol concentration constitutes as legal intoxication. Being impaired by drugs also falls under this category. Whether you’re facing DWI or DUi charges, it’s necessary to team up with a defense lawyer. Sergio Coronado Law is ready to help.
The state of Texas has a zero-tolerance policy which means that if anyone under the age of 21 is found to have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system while they’re operating a vehicle, they will receive a DUI charge. Minors who face these charges may expect the following penalties:
Although punishments for DUI charges may seem more lenient, subsequent offenses will lead to more severe punishments.
DWI charges are more severe on principle. First-time DWI offenders will face a fine of up to $2,000 as well as 3 to 180 days in jail. Their driver’s license may be suspended for up to one year with an annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years in order to retain their driver’s license. First-time DWI offenses are categorized as Class B misdemeanors. Penalties increase depending on the individual’s blood alcohol level. If it’s over .15, the fine may jump to $4,000 and the amount of time served may increase to 1 year. The charge will also constitute as a Class A misdemeanor. Second DWI offenses carry similar penalties, from a $4,000 fine and 30 days to one year in jail. Further penalties include license suspension ranging anywhere from 180 days to 2 years. Simply put, DWI charges are nothing to scoff at.
In the state of Texas, a police officer may lawfully arrest you if he or she has probable cause to believe you were driving while intoxicated. Texas law goes on to require you to take a blood or breath test if you are arrested with a DWI charge. These tests are set in place in order to determine your blood alcohol level (commonly abbreviated to BAC). The test must be taken as soon as possible and the arresting officer will determine which type of test you are to take. You are able to take the blood test within two hours by a medical professional of your choosing, once you submit to the officer’s test. Refusing to do so can be used as evidence against you in court and will lead to license suspension for at least 180 days.
Whether this is your first DUI charge or your third time getting arrested for a DWI, it is in your best interest to team up with a DUI/DWI lawyer. By bringing a lawyer into the fold, you’ll be have an experienced legal defender in your corner. Sergio Coronado Law has been serving the El Paso area since 1989. This means we have decades-worth of experience in defending drivers from DUI and DWI charges. With our help, your penalties may be reduced and you won’t have to face the dire consequences. Your lawyer will represent you in trial and will know what to look for in order to build the best defense for your particular case. No matter the severity of your charge, contact Sergio Coronado Law. We will guide you on what to do and offer the legal counsel you deserve.