Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter

(915) 532-4500

Understanding Misdemeanors in the State of Texas

misdemeanor defense in el paso

Misdemeanors in the state of Texas are split up into three categories: Class A, Class B, and Class C. Although these charges tend to involve less serious offenses, they still lead to punishments that manifest in fines, county jail time, or both. Regardless of the severity of your charges, it’s beneficial to contact an experienced lawyer in order to navigate the path correctly.

 

Classes of Misdemeanor Charges in Texas

  • Class A Misdemeanor
  • Examples include: burglary, assault with bodily injury, unlawfully carrying a weapon, and cruelty to animals. Second offenses such as DWI charges will be charged as Class A misdemeanors.
  • Since Class A misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanor classification in Texas, charges can manifest as fines up to $4,000, one year in county jail, or both.
  •  

  • Class B Misdemeanor
  • Examples include: First offense of DWI, harassment, failure to pay child support, criminal trespass, evading arrest on foot, and vandalism.
  • Class B misdemeanors carry charges of fines up to $2,000, 180 days in jail, or both.
  •  

  • Class C Misdemeanor
  • Examples include: assault without injury, leaving a child in a vehicle, shoplifting under $50, possessing an alcoholic beverage in a motor vehicle.
  • Class C misdemeanors carry fines of up to $500 and there is no jail time associated with this type of misdemeanor.

 

 

I’ve Been Charged with a Misdemeanor - What Now?

Although misdemeanors may seem like the least severe criminal charges, they still lead to negative ramifications in the lives of those accused. One way this occurs is if you’re charged for a second offense. The first DWI constitutes as a class B misdemeanor but a second DWI will cause you to be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. Even a class C misdemeanor can make it difficult for individuals to find employment or apply for a home loan. There is an option available known as misdemeanor expungement wherein your arrest record becomes expunged so you will no longer be obligated to state any offenses on paper (although you must still state so when under oath). Class C misdemeanors can be expunged if, under certain circumstances, you meet community supervision and deferred disposition. Records can also be sealed which means they cannot be seen by the public.

 

Get The Help You Deserve

Whether you’re facing your first class C misdemeanor or you’re facing your second DWI charge, it’s necessary to seek strong representation. Sergio Coronado Law provides dedicated, personalized criminal defense services. We represent clients in El Paso County, most of West Texas, and New Mexico.

 

Copyright © 2013 Sergio Coronado Law, All Rights Reserved.  Web Services Provided by Ascential Media