Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter

(915) 532-4500

Vehicular Manslaughter: What To Expect From This Charge

Vehicular manslaughter is a charge in which a driver’s reckless or negligent actions result in the death of another individual. There are other types of vehicular manslaughter depending on the situation. Criminally negligent homicide, for instance, occurs when an individual operates a vehicle with criminal negligence, resulting in the death of another individual. Racing on a highway, driving with a suspended license, and intoxication manslaughter are all further examples of vehicular manslaughter. If you’re in the Southwest and vehicular manslaughter charges have been brought against you, it’s time to call Sergio Coronado Law.

 

Common Scenarios That May Lead to Vehicular Manslaughter

Driving at a dangerous speed, weaving in and out of traffic, and not using light signals can all lead to a catastrophic event in which lives can be lost. In order to justify this charge, recklessness must be established by the prosecution. This means the defendant must have been aware of the risk posed by his or her reckless actions. Criminally negligent homicide, on the other hand, is categorized as situations in which the defendant ignores risks that result in the death of another individual. Examples of criminally negligent homicide include texting while driving or speeding through school zones and hitting a student resulting in the student’s death.

 

When DWI/DUI Is Involved

Vehicular manslaughter has an entirely separate category for fatal car accidents that were caused by an intoxicated driver. Aptly named “intoxication manslaughter,” this charge manifests when the defendant, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, causes an individual’s death. Texas law requires the prosecution to prove that drunk driving caused the crash.

 

Possible Penalties You May Face in Texas

Vehicular manslaughter is a second-degree felony in the state of Texas. Penalties can manifest in 2 to 20 years in prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000. These penalties are the same for intoxication manslaughter as well. Since it’s considered a state jail felony, criminally negligent homicide carries a lighter sentence of 180 days to 2 years in state jail. Regardless of the category of the charge, it’s necessary for you to defend yourself. Sergio Coronado Law is ready to help. We provide strong legal counsel to those in the Southwest who require legal defense. With over 30 years of experience serving El Paso and the Southwest, we are ready to take on your case. Contact our team today to learn more about what we can do for you.

 

Copyright © 2013 Sergio Coronado Law, All Rights Reserved.  Web Services Provided by Ascential Media